Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Help needed with leatherworking (Read 301 times)
rasul

sleeping in the garden..

bay area slinging club
Help needed with leatherworking
May 3rd, 2023 at 4:38am

hi everyone,

I am starting the creation process of a new sling, which will consist of a 4-strand round braid with a woven split pouch (similar to the image attached, but instead of having a one-strand cord it'll be a 4-strand round braid). The split-pouch will have leather sewn onto it; either completely encasing it, or just on the inner side (the projectile-holding side)

I ordered some leather and a very basic leatherworking kit, which consists of some thread, needles, and an awl.

As I am very new to leatherworking and sewing, would anyone have any tips or instructions on how to achieve this? I've got the general gist of it, but any advice would help tremendously!

I have attached an image or two of what I am planning to do with the leather, although the images depict flat-braid slings  Cry (so just imagine a round-braid)

Also, what do you guys personally think of balearic slings with leather-encased/covered split pouches? Other than durability, is there a performance difference at all? Should I forget about the leather and just have a woven split pouch by itself?
Let me know your thoughts!

(also, the first image belongs to @CodeMaker  Wink )

codemaker.png (761 KB | 13 )
codemaker.png
ex1.png (321 KB | 11 )
ex1.png
ex2.png (76 KB | 11 )
ex2.png

aka @stoneslinging
IP Logged

rasul

sleeping in the garden..

bay area slinging club
Re: Help needed with leatherworking
Reply #1 - May 3rd, 2023 at 4:41am

for clarification, i will be making a synthetic sling, not a natural-fibre one.

aka @stoneslinging
IP Logged

Yfir
Descens

Slinging Rocks!

Sydney
Reply #2 - May 3rd, 2023 at 5:16am