Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Best sling projectiles for purchase in bulk. Very Lethal. (Read 1545 times)
Foresight17

Slinging Rocks!

Re: Best sling projectiles for purchase in bulk. Very Lethal.
Reply #15 - May 16th, 2022 at 1:59am

Lacumo wrote on May 15th, 2022 at 7:26am:
Quote:
Sadly no, I just spent 90 bucks on 1 inch, 66.3 gram steel ball bearings (100 of them) and don't want to buy more expensive ammo atm lol. However I do plan too, and with the steel I'm reaching 150 meters roughly on UPHILL shots, so first I'm gonna try to get really acclimated to the balls before I try anything the requires rifling since I'm still pretty new to slinging. I think I could beat my record of 169 meters on a flat surface with these pretty easily and can't wait to try!

Where did you find 1" steel balls?   I've never been able to find any that size.

They're on amazon actually, here's a link.

https://www.amazon.com/Inch-Chrome-Steel-Bearing-Balls/dp/B015RP9WP6/ref=mp_s_a_...

IP Logged

slingostarr

Slinging Rocks!

Planet Earth
Reply #16 - May 16th, 2022 at 3:22am

Lacumo wrote on May 15th, 2022 at 9:03am:
slingostarr wrote on May 15th, 2022 at 7:57am:
If you want cheap ammo similar to this, grab some mild steel round bar (20mm) and cut it into 50m lengths. You can even shorpen them. 10mm round bar works well too. Cheap as.
Lead is cheap in Australia. Paying $2 per kilo at the moment. Gets me around 15 good sized round balls when I do some casting.

I tried using ~1.5" pieces of re-bar for slingshot ammo a few years ago.   It took forever to cut the pieces by hand with a hacksaw and the ammo was more erratic than it was consistent.   It was another of my well-intentioned ideas that didn't work out.   

Nah don't use rebar, it's too uneven. Just plain round bar. 50mm lengths cut with a cheap angle grinder is quick as. I stuck my pieces in a drill press and then made the ends conical with the grinder.