Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Increase power without losing accuracy? (Read 1121 times)
Foresight17

Slinging Rocks!

Increase power without losing accuracy?
Jan 7th, 2022 at 2:40pm

This is my first post on the forum excluding the introductions, happy to be here! Now onto business. I am having an issue delivering the same accuracy while using 85%-100% of my power compared to when slinging only using 60-75%. I have noticed that greek overhand style seems to deliver the most power without losing as much accuracy compared to the balearic style, although I am new to slinging (6 months-ish) so that could be due to lack of skill. But no matter what I do I can't seem to deliver a 100%, full power throw without my accuracy being dramatically reduced unless I am using a very short sling (loop on finger to crease of elbow) which naturally has less total energy potential. I would like to hear what You guys have to say about using full power without losing accuracy, and how I can increase my own accuracy without losing power. Thanks in advance everyone!  Grin

IP Logged

SerKraus

Slinging Rocks!

Re: Increase power without losing accuracy?
Reply #1 - Jan 7th, 2022 at 3:38pm

Nobody can sling at 100% of their power without losing a lot of accuracy. The good news is that you can improve your power and efficiency to the point where 100% of your power in the beginning is only a fraction of what it is now. I've noticed that power increases naturally no matter what you do as long as you sling often. However, practicing it will increase it faster. Accuracy needs to be practiced more purposefully. In other words, if you practice consistently and intelligently, you'll accomplish amazing things.  Wink

No citizen has a right to be an amateur in the matter of physical training…what a disgrace it is for a man to grow old without ever seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable. -Socrates

IP Logged