Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Where to get slings? (Read 2749 times)
FarmerJohn
Novicius

Slinging Rocks!

Where to get slings?
Mar 19th, 2021 at 12:08am

I am new to slinging. I was wondering where to find/who makes the best slings/ what types are best? I like the look of the woven pouch type slings but honestly know little about any type. Suggestions and advice would be appreciated

IP Logged

Josephusflav

Slinging Rocks!

Re: Where to get slings?
Reply #1 - Mar 19th, 2021 at 12:10am

You CAN by them but why would you when you can make a perfectly good survival sling

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GLZwyKoLWiY

The above a dead chimp could make and it works great

IP Logged

Mersa
Interfector Viris Spurii

Druid

Australia
Reply #2 - Mar 19th, 2021 at 1:51am

Heaps of tutorials on the forum.

Make your own , you will be sucked into sling building in no time.

Ah the noodle. Jesus would be proud.

Razor glandes, Aim for the eyes!!!

IP Logged

vetryan15
Slinging.org Moderator

Slinging Rocks!

Northern Maine
Reply #3 - Mar 19th, 2021 at 3:40am

The tutorials here are great, or etsy

IP Logged

David Morningstar
Slinging.org Moderator

Slinging Rocks!

UK
Reply #4 - Mar 19th, 2021 at 6:55am

Heres a simple one I made the other day. I used a folded paper template to keep everything symmetrical. The material is scrap leather from an old jacket. Boot leather would be too stiff for this. Ask around, you'll be amazed what people have kept. When you get some material like this you should do a pull test in one corner with a holepunch and some cord to make sure it wont rip out.

IP Logged

NooneOfConsequence
Slinging.org Moderator

Texas
Reply #5 - Mar 19th, 2021 at 11:46am

FarmerJohn wrote on Mar 19th, 2021 at 12:08am:
I am new to slinging. I was wondering where to find/who makes the best slings/ what types are best? I like the look of the woven pouch type slings but honestly know little about any type. Suggestions and advice would be appreciated