Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
My arm hurts! ( A tentative solution) (Read 2028 times)
RickkyBandit

Slinging Rocks!

My arm hurts! ( A tentative solution)
Jan 16th, 2021 at 12:17am

Now, full disclosure: I think mot veterans in the community are probably aware of this at least in some way or other, and it's not like I've never seen anyone else do this, this is just for others like me who didn't really get the memo and have sore arms.

I've been slinging for about 3 months now, I've gotten good enough to throw hard, fast, and pretty accurately, but my arm hurts after a while, especially with bigger rocks! why is this?

Well I believe I have made a personal breakthrough on that, it's basically recoil, you know like a firearm, I realized that I was snapping my arm to a stop to shoot my projectile, powerful to be sure, but my arm was constantly copping the full force of my throw, not ideal.

Through natural development and watching others on YT I found that I should be twisting my body into the force of the throw and letting my arm and the sling twist around my body for better accuracy and consistent power, but, I had yet to really understand why it was so vital.

I found myself keeping my distance from throwing larger rocks for the most part as I was aware that it usually meant a sting of pain and a fairly underwhelming shot, this was deeply unsatisfying as I'd put so much effort into learning this skill.

Thus, yesterday I stumbled upon my solution, "recoil absorbance".