Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Pros and Cons of Different Sling Releases (Read 1294 times)
MirkoSling
Tiro

Marichiweu

Texas
Pros and Cons of Different Sling Releases
Dec 18th, 2020 at 10:32pm

What are the advantages and disadvantages of different sling release styles. I've seen some pictures with slings using a round bead and others using a tab. Is there any difference is the performance of the sling? Would it be more difficult for a complete beginner to learn with a specific type of release?

IP Logged

IronGoober
Interfector Viris Spurii

...and now, No. 1, the
larch...

California
Re: Pros and Cons of Different Sling Releases
Reply #1 - Dec 18th, 2020 at 10:37pm

You can ask 5 different people on here and get 5 different answers.

Here is my opinion: Knots - They are effective, great for beginners and great for heavy rocks.  But you can end up having the knot be "grabby" and you don't always release when you want to. Great to start out with this, but many migrate away from it.

Full grip, smooth release cord - This can also be good for large stones, if the cord is thick enough. I don't prefer it because it tends to give me rope-burn. You tend get a nice crack with each release, which can be satisfying.

Tab - My preferred method. Can be used for large stones with enough training. Cleanest release in my experience. Also silences the sling so it doesn't make much noise. This may be useful if it was ever needed for hunting.

John R.

IP Logged

NooneOfConsequence
Slinging.org Moderator

Texas
Reply #2 - Dec 18th, 2020 at 10:40pm

It’s really personal preference. There may be a slight timing difference (like milliseconds), but you can compensate for any delay as long as it’s consistent.   You can also change the delay based on how hard you squeeze the release cord.