Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 4 
Send Topic Print
The most archaic of the archaic.....THE STICK! (Read 7720 times)
TOMBELAINE
Funditor

Slinging Rocks!

france
Re: The most archaic of the archaic.....THE STICK!
Reply #45 - Nov 1st, 2020 at 6:47am

Whaouh, a warrior with these sticks must be very impressive.

IP Logged

a

a

a
Reply #46 - Nov 1st, 2020 at 6:59am

TOMBELAINE wrote on Nov 1st, 2020 at 6:47am:
Whaouh, a warrior with these sticks must be very impressive.

Yes, I imagine he'd be very intimidating. Polynesian weapons tend to be very scary looking things. I train with them, but I'm no expert.

IP Logged

Slyngorm
Funditor

Slingit...

Reply #47 - Nov 4th, 2020 at 2:24pm

Most of these videos look kinda flashy...

IP Logged

Kick
past-moderator

Finland
Reply #48 - Nov 4th, 2020 at 2:35pm

A lot of stick fighting I think is shown to be flashy to get people to sign up to their club or buy their videos Cheesy When it comes down to it, a stick is a stick. It goes bonk.

You are a great guy Kick but also slightly scary at times. - Morphy
"Nothing matters, but it’s perhaps more comfortable to keep calm and not interfere with other people." - H.P. Lovecraft, in a letter to Frank Belknap Long, 7 October, 1923

IP Logged

Slyngorm
Funditor

Slingit...

Reply #49 - Nov 5th, 2020 at 5:25pm

Kick wrote on Nov 4th, 2020 at 2:35pm:
a stick is a stick. It goes bonk.

Yeah, but the over the top arm movements only helps to open yourself to your opponent and makes you spend twice the time making a strike. In the end it looks silly.

Reminds me of my first time watching Akademia Szermierzy (HEMA, sword fighting). After a lifetime of watching theatre sword fights the real deal looked so weird but was actually really simple and logical and all together was so much more awesome.
In that nerve, I haven't been able to take lightsaber fights from the prequels seriously after "Star Wars: The (Totally) Phantom Menace"