Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 4 
Send Topic Print
How the hell do so many of you spend hours making a sling? (Read 6060 times)
Jaegoor
Interfector Viris Spurii

Slinging Rocks!

Re: How the hell do so many of you spend hours making a sling?
Reply #30 - Nov 12th, 2020 at 8:05am

Unfortunately, I don't have time for that.  My gymnasium was broken into.  Slings for my group were stolen.  I have to replace them.  There is also a sling project for Switzerland.  Reconstructing this slingshot is a mammoth task.  I already made a couple of replicas.  But there is new knowledge.  Then I have some orders for slings from friends.  I am a trainer for two sports groups and I work full-time as a teacher.

Bono Mellius

IP Logged

Tomas
Interfector Viris Spurii

Reply #31 - Nov 12th, 2020 at 8:19am

Braided slings are faster on a Marudai.
It takes a while to set up the strings and bobbins though. The action is quicker though.
My paracord slings with a leather pouch take about half an hour to do properly.
Details take time. No way around it. The more you sling the more you will demand of your sling. I use a very simple non braided sling but it has a lot of design features even at a basic level.
Don't skimp!

IP Logged

Curious Aardvark
Forum Moderation

Taller than the average
Dwarf

Midlands England
Reply #32 - Nov 12th, 2020 at 9:46am

well you don't need to spend $10,000 on a robotic solution.

A reasonable programmable 4/5 axis robotic arm can be had for less than $1000 these days.
get two, teach them to braid and leave them to it Smiley

Hell get three and really go to town !

20 or 30 sold slings later and you're into profit !

Do All things with Honour and Generosity: Regret Nothing, Envy None, Apologise Seldom and Bow your head to No One  - works for me Smiley

IP Logged

SerKraus

Slinging Rocks!

Reply #33 - Nov 12th, 2020 at 12:31pm

Jaegoor wrote on Nov 12th, 2020 at 8:05am: