Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Xenophon and Rhodian Slingers: Analysis and Attempting reconstruction? (Read 6795 times)
TheArchaicPeltast
Tiro

Dexai!

California, USA
Xenophon and Rhodian Slingers: Analysis and Attempting reconstruction?
May 26th, 2018 at 6:39am

I've been doing a lot of research on the Anabasis for a future project, and had been fixated on the section reguarding the Rhodian Slingers (Anabasis III.iii-iv).

I think the range and ability of the slingers have been mentioned quite a lot on the forum, but Xenophon does indeed talk about the making of these slings.
Specifically: "pay anyone who is willing to plait new ones" (Anab. III.iii.18)
The word used here for plait is πλέκω(pleko), which seems to specifically mean plait, rather than "fabricate" as some other translations have used. (I am no expert in Greek or ancient Greek, so any input here is appreciated)

He also mentions:
ηὑρίσκετο δὲ καὶ νεῦρα πολλὰ ἐν ταῖς κώμαις καὶ μόλυβδος, ὥστε χρῆσθαι εἰς τὰς σφενδόνας
"In the villages, furthermore, the Greeks found gut in abundance and lead for the use of their slingers." (Anab. III.iv.17)
While it is obvious what the lead was used for, it is not the case for the "gut".

The word used here is νευρά(neura).
There are several possible translations:
Some translations directly translate neura into bowstring, with the intention that they are used for the archers rather than the slingers. But a cursory look into the Greek suggests that the word used, neura, is different than νευρή(bowstring), or νεῦρον(sinew/tendon). But I haven't found a translation that directly translates neura to "gut". However, neura seems to also have been used in the context of stringed instruments, which we know used processed animal gut for strings.
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/morph?l=neu%3Dra&la=greek&can=neu%3Dra0&prio...\