Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
The Kahun/el-Lahun sling: Analysis and Pointers for Reconstruction Approach (Read 8141 times)
Teg
Interfector Viris Spurii

Central Europe
The Kahun/el-Lahun sling: Analysis and Pointers for Reconstruction Approach
Jan 10th, 2018 at 2:20pm

Many of you know that I have been working on the egyptian slings for several years now, with a special focus on the sling in Manchester Museum (Acc. No. 103). In 2015 I had the unique opportunity to investigate one of the Lahun slings in Manchester Museum (a huge thank you to David Colter and Campbell Price at this point!). The last years I invested some time into analyzing the pictures as well as experimenting with different reconstruction methods. The reconstructions are documented in the links below.

Now I put together a progress report about the current findings from the analysis. A low resolution version is attached to this post, a version with full resolution images can be downloaded from here:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7xjyalnu8lwkye2/Report_Manchester_published_20180110_f... (~180 MB) and a full collection of all ~120 photographs is available upon request from me (Mail or PM).

The project itself has reached a point where it is near its final target: a full publication in a journal. A couple details remain however. First, I forgot to take some measurements and pictures of some details. Second, I’d like to take another closer look at the pouch in person, especially at the twist direction of the threads. Also, I was unable to perform a reliable thread count from the pictures as their contrast is sometimes a bit questionable. There is still considerable room for interpretation which fabrication method was used (and most probably will always be).