Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Braiding (Read 4639 times)
walter
Interfector Viris Spurii

Slinging Rocks!

Braiding
Oct 30th, 2017 at 10:14pm

I would like to start a thread on braiding. I think we have a fair amout of accomplished braiders and it seems more than a few that could use a little help here and there. Myself included.

I have been braiding slings for more than a few years (fiber for just a couple years) and still have not figured out how to do this or that.

I used to round braid. Always. Sometimes even the finger loop Undecided
Balearic slings changed all that. While straight flat braiding (think retention cord) is easier than round braiding (to me) dropping strings in order to taper the release cord is not.

So, my first question is, how do you hide the drop? I am not talking fiber, but string or twine.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Perseverence furthers

IP Logged

johan
Funditor

no longer active:keep
the flame of slinging
alive

Re: Braiding
Reply #1 - Oct 31st, 2017 at 3:24am

walter wrote on Oct 30th, 2017 at 10:14pm:
So, my first question is, how do you hide the drop? I am not talking fiber, but string or twine.

i'm curious to know what others do.
i  don't do that much tapering. it usually happens at either side of the split pouch going from 12 to 6 strings. i just sew it , in the past i would leave it like that.

IP Logged

Kick
Forum Moderation

Finland
Reply #2 - Oct 31st, 2017 at 5:22am

My drops always end up looking pretty ugly. I don't hide them all that much at all so I would love some tips on this too.

You are a great guy Kick but also slightly scary at times. - Morphy
"Nothing matters, but it’s perhaps more comfortable to keep calm and not interfere with other people." - H.P. Lovecraft, in a letter to Frank Belknap Long, 7 October, 1923

IP Logged

Drakolith
Funditor

U.S.
Reply #3 - Oct 31st, 2017 at 8:29am