Pages: 1 ... 20 21 22 23 24 
Send Topic Print
Lobbing vs. Throwing (Read 79842 times)
a

a

a
Re: Lobbing vs. Throwing
Reply #315 - Oct 30th, 2020 at 10:04pm

It depends how hard you want to hit something. Hit a bird full strength 30 feet up a tree and you won't be eating it afterwards, it will probably explode.

But if you're trying to save yourself from a pack of stray dogs, then full strength is the way to go.

IP Logged

Thearos
Interfector Viris Spurii

Take that

Reply #316 - Nov 1st, 2020 at 3:48am

Back in the day, I was just struck by Balearic dudes shooting slower and in arcs; and I was annoyed by the wangers saying that their way was the true way to sling. Besides, as a slinger I like a good windup.

IP Logged

a

a

a
Reply #317 - Nov 1st, 2020 at 4:13am

Thearos wrote on Nov 1st, 2020 at 3:48am:
I was annoyed by the wangers saying that their way was the true way to sling.

I'm with you, when slinging for fun I want to throw as hard as I can. I'm not very experienced with target shooting though, there must a be a good reason they do it.

IP Logged

Thearos
Interfector Viris Spurii

Take that

Reply #318 - Nov 1st, 2020 at 12:56pm

When I straightline I shoot with my back turned to the target ("Makron style", as this community unanimously agreed to call it), and a sudden explosive unwinding of the body towards target. The extra-long acceleration path gets good accuracy but strains my elbow (already left delicate by fencing).

When I lob (shoot heavy and controlled), that spares my joints but requires a lot of precise style and timing in order to avoid slack / lag.

The whole debate about delivery of energy was in reply to people saying that it was not "real slinging" in historical terms.

IP Logged

Slyngorm
Funditor

Slingit...

Reply #319 - Nov 3rd, 2020 at 8:55am

Flatlining, lobbing?
What the hock does any of that mean?

IP Logged

Kick
Forum Moderation

Finland
Reply #320 - Nov 3rd, 2020 at 8:58am