Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
The "Belt Braid" (Now with Pictures) (Read 3486 times)
Dan
Interfector Viris Spurii
SlingingGuide Moderator

Slinging Rocks!

The "Belt Braid" (Now with Pictures)
Mar 26th, 2013 at 9:09am

So, to cut to the point, I am not a very profiecient weaver, but I can braid well.
My whole sling making career, it has been a challenge to get a wider pouch in my all-cordage slings.
I use Balearic slings often but now I discovered a 'new to me' braid that allows for much wider pouches. That is the "Belt Braid". Which is really half way between a weave and a braid.

Here's one tutorial but there are a bunch more online you can look at too. http://www.instructables.com/id/Braiding-eight-cords-into-a-flat-braid/

Its pretty simple, just take the outside left cord and weave over and under untill its on the far right side, then do it with the next one. How tight your braid is depends mostly on the polar outside 'weaves'

I figured it out by looking at one of my dress belts and then I tried making a sling with it and it works superbly. I only 2 in sisal now but I'll get some better looking ones and post those soon.
I've used, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8 strands thus far and they all work well.

Usually for a simple split pouch you can get the braid about 30-60% wider depending on how many strands you use. This will generally allow for a better hold on the projecticle and I think it looks cooler too.

This trick will let you make split pouch braided slings that can easily be as wide as a Rockman or similar sling without the weaving diffilties or the amount of cordage you use weaving.

Try it out and let me know what you think.  Smiley
« Last Edit: Mar 29th, 2013 at 8:54am by Dan »  

I was pretty good at slinging like 10 years ago.

IP Logged

Teg
Interfector Viris Spurii

Central Europe
Re: The "Belt Braid"
Reply #1 - Mar 26th, 2013 at 10:58am