Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 14
Send Topic Print
Sling Defence of Iron Age Hillforts (Read 48700 times)
mile-end

Student of the Iron Age

Romsey, Hants, UK
Sling Defence of Iron Age Hillforts
Jan 25th, 2012 at 7:57am

I’m studying Archaeology as a retirement project and I am planning a Masters dissertation on the topic of the defence qualities of Iron Age ramparts. I know some of you expert slingers have commented on previous experiments by Jon Bryant Finney and it occurred to me to ask if it might be possible to enlist your expertise in the design and conduct of my study.

What I’m looking into is whether the changes of rampart design in the Middle Iron Age did improve how well the hillforts could be defended by slingers. (The ramparts changed shape, and additional ramparts were added; many authorities think this wasn’t to do with improving defence.) Unlike Finney’s experiment, range would not be the only issue; I’d want to consider accuracy and how you’d achieve the right trajectory to exploit the design of the ramparts.

If I get to doing quantified experiments, I’d want to use expert slingers as participants (I have previous experience of human performance experiments), but a qualitative examination of the idea would come first, again with expert input being necessary.

The hillforts I’m talking about are mostly in southern England and in Wales, and if I do an experiment I’d probably be using a suitably-shaped hillside in southern England, so slingers in this area would be most useful, but of course input by email could also help.

If you'd be interested in helping, please let me know.

Thanks,

Pete Robertson

Pete Robertson
mile-end mile-end  
IP Logged

Mauro Fiorentini
past-moderator

Forge your future with
the hammer of your mind!

Ancona, Italy.
Re: Sling Defence of Iron Age Hillforts
Reply #1 - Jan 25th, 2012 at 8:13am

Hallo Pete, welcome to the site!