changing sling stones (Read 1444 times)
Cthulhu
Descens

Slinging Rocks!  (and
tennis balls)

hiding somewhere in Indiana
changing sling stones
Sep 19th, 2010 at 7:22pm

when i started slinging i like to use rocks about half the size of my fist, maybe a little larger than an egg.i have been slinging for about 5,6 months, and i have noticed that i have slowing been shifting to shorter slings (4-5 ft slings to about 32 inches. I can't even think of using anything but a Balearic sling  ) , and not only that , but also to smaller stones.

i find that now i actually prefer to throw stones a little smaller than a golf ball, a bit less than half the size if i am really going for distance. I really like that extra velocity and power that I am able to pack into the smaller stones.

have you noticed your preferences changing as you have improved at slinging, especially after you started actually "getting the hang of it" ?

« Last Edit: Sep 19th, 2010 at 9:07pm by Cthulhu »  

"aw, thats  cute..." &&yes, why don't you stand next to that tree over there and tell me how "cute" it is again.

IP Logged

Bill Skinner
past-moderator

Slinging Rocks!

Re: changing sling stones
Reply #1 - Sep 19th, 2010 at 9:10pm

I have noticed that my slings are starting to stay around 25 to 30 inches, (roughly 2/3m) but the stones I an throwing are getting larger.  I throw clay glandes which are lighter than stone so that may have something to do with it.  I am now throwing a gland about half way between a golf ball and a tennis ball, I used to throw slightly smaller than a golf ball.  My distances are about the same as yours, I prefer a biconal, it seems to go slightly farther if I get a good spiral.  I use the same size clump of mud for either a sphere or a biconal.  Bill

IP Logged

LukeWebb
Funditor

Slinging Rocks!

New Brunswick Canada
Reply #2 - Sep 20th, 2010 at 1:20am