Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
From Flat to Flinging, my first sling. (Read 2014 times)
TJTay89
Tiro

It don't mean a thing,
if it ain't got that
sling

From Flat to Flinging, my first sling.
Nov 5th, 2004 at 4:18am

Hello, I am new to the slinging world, and have just made my first sling. I used the Basic sling guide found on this site (leather pouch, shoelaces), but I had to improvise alittle on the pouch.

I used the pull cords to a pair of pants, but after looking all around for a piece of scrap leather, I was stuck. There didn't seem to be anything that was leather, that I was willing to use for a sling (not going to tear up my leather wallet, or bible bag). Now a normal person would just run to the store and pick up some leather... But it is safe to say that I am not normal Wink. Plus there is the little problem of me living 60 miles to the nearest Wal*Mart, making driving to the store a bit to time consuming.

So after looking around alittle bit longer, I find an old football (american)  that had its inner tube popped. Well I figure that if the cover is tough enough to survive being kicked 60+ yards, then it just might be able to survive a couple of throws.

I cut off the covering/"pigskin", and then procided to fourth it (I cut it down all the seams). I was left with two bits (the bits withough the laces) of usable matrial. So following the instructions I cut out a pouch, and this is when it dawned on me that my football pouch was already in a cupish shape, and that this might just make it easier to hold projectiles (rocks). Well I have only had a chance to use my sling acouple of times, and the sling has worked just fine (wish I could say the same for the slinger Wink).

Here are a couple of quick pictures of my sling...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v365/TJTay89/Picture0031.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v365/TJTay89/Picture0021.jpg