Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Sling help... (Read 1333 times)
Holy_Tumbleweed
Novicius

Sling help...
Sep 26th, 2004 at 11:38am

Firstly I'd like to say Hi to everyone at the forums.

I was wondering what sort of length the sling should be , I am 5 ft 7in, I am 15, I have strong arms and have a good throw, I am of an average build abut. I have tried looking through the articles but I couldn't find a guide for the length of the sling.  I am new to this and would also like to know what sling you guys use, I know its personal preference but I am looking for any recommendations. I am not afraid to braid hard things and am open to all sugestions.

Thanks

IP Logged

Lathron
Ex Member

Re: Sling help...
Reply #1 - Sep 26th, 2004 at 12:10pm

you can find it here, i think:
http://www.slinging.org/22.html
it's under "The Construction"

IP Logged

mgreenfield
Funditor

Milwaukee Wisconsin
Reply #2 - Sep 26th, 2004 at 1:47pm

...I like best the length from release knot to middle of pocket to be same as length from my outstretched fingertips to shoulder.  mgreenfield

IP Logged

Chris
Slinging.org Administrator

Slinging Rocks!

USA
Reply #3 - Sep 26th, 2004 at 10:14pm

I've been a fan of the heart-to-hand technique.  That is supposedly optimal, but you really need to experiment.  Luckily, cord is pretty cheap.

Chris

IP Logged

Tint
Interfector Viris Spurii
Past Moderator

Hong Kong
Reply #4 - Sep 26th, 2004 at 11:12pm

Holy_Tumbleweed,

The length of the sling you want may also depend on your technique.  I used to only sling with the tennis-serve-style (see topic "Slinging style...video" started by nwmanitou) and a short sling seems most effective with that.  But lately after seeing "My sling" started by John W. -Knollslinger.  I have been praticing the helicopter and fullspin throw which requires longer slings to be efficient.