Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
How did you learn to sling? (Read 9113 times)
Spencer
Tiro

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

How did you learn to sling?
Mar 24th, 2004 at 11:59am

I found it interesting to learn where we are all from.  I would also be interested to know how we all learned to sling and how long we have been slinging.

I learned to sling from my father.  I have been slinging for about 16 or 17 years.  What about you?  Just curious.

I think its great because no matter the method or how long you have been slinging, you are among the elite!  Very few people even know what a sling is!

IP Logged

Ulrica
Funditor

Fly, stone, fly

In the middle of Sweden
Re: How did you learn to sling?
Reply #1 - Mar 24th, 2004 at 1:19pm

Well, I sign up in this Forum the 15 Januar, and about one week later I was able to throw my first stone  Wink
So I´m still a beginner. My teachers are all people here in the forum I learn something here and there, put it together to something that fit me.

Ulrica  8)

May the stones go your way&&&&//Ulrica
IP Logged

Hobb

Denver, CO
Reply #2 - Mar 24th, 2004 at 1:31pm

About 6-7 months ago (I'm really bad about estimating time) I was doing searches in the library's database on random topics when I came across the fustibulus.  From there, I got into slings, sling braiding, sling design, etc.  I learned to sling by looking at all the advice I could find online, much of it from this forum, then going out and throwing stuff.  In martial arts, I found that the best teacher was the heavy bag, 'cause if you hit it wrong, it'd let you know.  I figure the same's probably true for slinging.  Once you get all the tips & tricks, there's no substitution for hucking a rock and watching where it goes.  I only just recently found a spot where I can sling regulary and safely, so I'm eager to see how my skill progresses.

IP Logged

Douglas

Just give me a good stone
and plenty of room!

Kalifornia