SLING WEAR AND TEAR (Read 9998 times)
David_T
Funditor
Past Moderator

Hooked on Sling'n

Greenville,SC
SLING WEAR AND TEAR
Feb 27th, 2004 at 11:29am

I HAVE BEEN SLINGING CHUNKS OF CONCRETE FOR ABOUT SIX MONTHS NOW. AND THESE ARE SOME OBSERVATIONS:
Stitching
My first sling was woven from jute and stitched thru the pouch --20 steps style. The concrete cute thru the jute stitching in the pouch after about 3 hours of slinging

Since that time, inspite of putting hot glue over the stitches every now and then, I have cut thru at least one stiitch in the pouch of all 5 slings I use. I have a 24" nylon, 24"hemp, 46" nylon, 37'hemp, 33" hemp.  I just hot glued a pices of hemp over the cut stitch and add glue to the back stitching.

Leather Pouch

My pouches are cut from a 8"x12" piece I buy at a craft store (Tandy leather) not as thick looking as some I see posted like Yurek's.  The only damage I have done to them is when I have slung underhand and dropped too low and hit the ground. I have put tears in two that way and cut some stitching. I still use them and the tears have not gotten any worse. Leather is amazing.
Of course concrete dust dries out leather so I put a leather conitioner on them now and then.

Release Knode

I have replaced the hot glue knode I put over the knot several times on all the slings.
I have had to unbraid and add new lenth to three of the slings because the knots finally wore off or broke off from the constant whip action.

Release Cord

Besides the release knode, I have found the release cord takes the most wear. Not nearly as much with the short slings From the pouchback 4"-6" the stones on release must drag and wear out this area. Even though I put hot glue on it I constantly have to add more and it begins to get much build up of glue. It is very hard to remove hot glue once it is in the cord.