Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
How I started slinging (Read 9016 times)
JeffH
Past Moderator

Don't stand behind me,
I'm about to sling!

Memphis, TN
How I started slinging
Jan 18th, 2004 at 11:05pm

Walkingbird, I hope this answers your question:

I am a preacher, after a fashion, among other things.  I am on staff at Bellevue Baptist Church in Memphis, TN.  Look us up at www.bellevue.org, and come visit us sometime.

I am also a designer and draftsman, having done architecture, landscape architecture, civil engineering, machine/tool/fixture design, taught drafting in school, etc.  I also love to tie knots, shoot all sorts of things, make bows and arrows, reload gun cartridges, read handy technical information (Thomas Glover's "Pocket Ref" goes with me everywhere, just like my Bible), make stuff from leather and wood and so on.  I used to rock-climb and still like to canoe.  In fact, when I get space, I intend to make a stitch and glue solo canoe.

My interest in slings goes back to my boyhood and hearing the story of David and Goliath.  I shot a new fangled high powered slingshot as a boy and always loved it.  I have been shooting guns and bows for years but never knew how to make a good sling.  I love primitive weapons, though, and had been looking at slings on the internet for a few years.  I did not have the mental fortitude to plait a 16 strand sling, so figured that I would just do without.