Send Topic Print
Hello slingers! (Read 1101 times)
paintman
Novicius

Slinging Rocks!

Barcelona, Catalonia
Hello slingers!
Oct 1st, 2020 at 11:10am

Hi I'm a beginner slinger and sling maker from Barcelona. I made a couple of simple quick 2 strand slings half a year ago but recently i bought some paracord and started making some serious ones and I'm pretty hooked. I'm impressed with the potential of this primitive weapon and looking forward to gain consistency and technique. I watched a lot of balearic slingers because i really like that cast tecnique and want to learn it, im under the impression that its one of the more powerful. Atm I'm using a kind of intuitive helicopter cast but stil learning. Here is a picture of my slings so far. The source material I used is:

-The Weavers of Eternity Paracord Tutorials for the white one, although the pouch is very rigid and flat and not very efective.
-CodeMaker: Single strand Paracord split pouch sling for the black one , with an adjustable string piece in the middle for adjusting the aperture similar to what Practical paracord does.
-And the leather one taking Môn Slinger's pattern which ended up a little small but i like the pouch a lot.

I need to learn more about braiding because i want to make a primitve rock sling with natural materials, and one questions i have is what thickness should I aim for in the sling cord. Also i found that if I only use 1 finger for the retention loop it ends up hurting me so I'll try puting 2 fingers (middle and ring) in the loop.

IP Logged

Kick
past-moderator

Finland
Re: Hello slingers!
Reply #1 - Oct 1st, 2020 at 1:05pm

Welcome from Finland! Some nice looking slings!

You are a great guy Kick but also slightly scary at times. - Morphy
"Nothing matters, but it’s perhaps more comfortable to keep calm and not interfere with other people." - H.P. Lovecraft, in a letter to Frank Belknap Long, 7 October, 1923

IP Logged

joe_meadmaker
Slinging.org Administrator

Slinging Ice is Cool!