Send Topic Print
Hunt Primitive (Read 2516 times)
Morphy
Slinging.org Moderator

Checkmate

Hunt Primitive
Jun 9th, 2020 at 12:57pm

https://youtu.be/ynK4jBQnc5s

This is quickly becoming my favorite primitive YouTube channel. This is a primitive (stone) bow build and hunt. Quite an accomplishment to get it all on video.

IP Logged

Rat Man
Slinging.org Administrator

Slinging Rocks!

New Jersey, USA
Re: Hunt Primitive
Reply #1 - Jun 9th, 2020 at 4:08pm

He makes constructing the bow look so easy.  I'll  bet a complete novice would screw up quite a few pieces of wood before he got it right.  Great video.

IP Logged

AncientCraftwork
Interfector Viris Spurii

Reply #2 - Jun 9th, 2020 at 4:19pm

I tried making a bow with nothing but sharp stones a few weeks ago. First thing I did was split the stave in halve. I split it from the top hammering  wedge shaped rock into it with a big round rock, then used small sharp wedge shaped rocks to hammer it in with a big rock. Then I tried to carve the halve stave with sharp rocks. That didn't work so good so I thought why not split it into another quarter.  I ended with a bendy stick but not a bow. It didn't work out. This is not an easy thing to do at all.
It's much easier collecting natural fibre from plants and making a sling out of it than, making a bow with nothing but stones age tech. But to make a sling from natural fibre, I estimate it will still take 2 weeks. That's the rate at which I am working now, I get about 2 meters of twine nettle in a day (on a good day!) and I need about 20 meters for a decent sling ( my guess, we will see about this)

It's not surprising to me that there are still some hunter-gatherer civilizations who never used the bow, if they got by fine using throw sticks, spear (throwers) and slings. The bow is the most complex of the bunch to make.

All Glory to God forever and ever, amen

IP Logged

vetryan15
Slinging.org Moderator

Slinging Rocks!

Northern Maine
Reply #3 - Jun 9th, 2020 at 5:51pm