Send Topic Print
Tree identification (Read 4026 times)
vetryan15
Slinging.org Moderator

Slinging Rocks!

Northern Maine
Tree identification
Apr 25th, 2020 at 12:51pm

Maybe someone can help, i am still learning tree identification for my area. I have been told that this is poplar,and cottonwood.  But i believe its the dialect and accents i cant understand, because i have heard it called popple.but that can be a different tree as well. Reason being is i would like to use the sapplings as primative arrows, and darts for atlatl. As you can see my land was logged a few months before i purchased it, i was told that poplar will be the first thing that returns and it grows like a weed. In the 2 pics most saplings are 4ft in height,  about almost 7ft. This is a recent tree i cut down is shown in all parts, except the leaves as i cut it during winter. Do you guys think they would work as arrows and darts  for  atlatl and bows???

Dont mind Jolene,  she was barking at me while taking a pic because the stick by her foot that was half  covered in sawdust, and she couldn't pic it up, she is one of 3 of my woods partners. Greyhound and German shepherd mix, known as a lurcher. She was rescued from a high kill shelter in Philadelphia. 

IP Logged

joe_meadmaker
Slinging.org Administrator

Slinging Ice is Cool!

PA, USA
Re: Tree identification
Reply #1 - Apr 25th, 2020 at 1:29pm

Tree identification isn't one of my fortes, so I can't tell you if the trees are poplar.  But I can tell you that if they are poplar, then yes, that is a good wood for arrows.  Not sure about atlatl darts.  I never made one of those.  But being that they work similarly to arrows, I would imagine it would be fine.

IP Logged

walter
Interfector Viris Spurii

Slinging Rocks!

Reply #2 - Apr 25th, 2020 at 8:02pm

popple means poplar in mainiac. There are a couple species in maine. Are you sure it isn't grey birch? In az, the poplars flower before they leaf out.

Perseverence furthers

IP Logged

Mersa