Send Topic Print
A True Story (Read 621 times)
Rat Man
Slinging.org Administrator

Slinging Rocks!

New Jersey, USA
A True Story
Jan 19th, 2020 at 1:43pm

I might have told this story here a long time ago.  If I did, most of the members reading this now weren't here then and it's a good story so here goes.
   My sense of time sucks but as best I can recall this took place in the late 80s or early 90s.  I worked as a technician for our local Cable TV franchise; Garden State Cable.  It was a subsidiary of Comcast which later became just Comcast.   
    We were required to do complete maintenance on every customer's cable line at every house regardless of what their problem was.  This was time consuming and tedious. The only way we were spared this task is if the weather made it dangerous.  In that it was Summer this meant thunderstorms.
    Consequently my friend Del and I decided to create a thunderstorm.  One of our fellow technicians, Stevie, is half Native American.  He kept up with the traditions.  I don't remember his tribe but he was also half Italian so he called himself an Awopaho.  Del is 1/16 Cherokee and I am 1/16 Iroquois.  Stevie taught us how to do an authentic Rain Dance.  It's actually a very simple step.  As Stevie drummed out the beat on the countertop Del and I did the dance. We did our best to make it look authentic even though we were complete novices.  The dance was over, we had made our little joke, and we went off to toil for Satan.  We worked the swing shift, BTW, until ten PM.
     Toward late afternoon I looked down West Browning
Road at Philadelphia, which was maybe ten miles away. Between the city and I were clouds the likes of which I had never seen before or since.  They looked like low hanging puffs of black smoke. Very strange.  This was early Summer and it normally didn't get dark until around nine PM.  Yet this particular afternoon it was almost pitch dark by 4:30.  It was obvious something was going to happen.