Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Tapering the release cord (Read 1294 times)
TrentG
Novicius

Slinging Rocks!

Tapering the release cord
Jan 8th, 2020 at 3:55pm

I have struggled with tapering the release cord and was wondering if anyone had a tutorial or tips that I could use that would be really helpful Grin

I am new to sling making and have been slinging for about a year

IP Logged

JudoP
Funditor

Rocks away!

UK
Re: Tapering the release cord
Reply #1 - Jan 8th, 2020 at 7:03pm

For me the success of tapering depends somewhat on the material and cord thickness you are working with, but there are some things worth knowing. The following post is assuming you are using a basic fishtail braid, different strategies apply for round braids and they are generally harder to do.

Lets say you have 15 jute cords which you turn into a 5 braid with each braid having three cords to it (5x3). Dropping down to 5x2 and 5x1 is pretty easy provided you are twisting the braids together (twist them tightly and against the direction of the braid). This prevents the dropped cord unravelling up the sling as it is locked together with the remaining cords in the braid. This is the easiest and cleanest way to taper, and also splicing in material works in a similar way.