Send Topic Print
Slinging in Washington (Read 711 times)
DirtyDuck
Novicius

Slinging Rocks!

Western Wa
Slinging in Washington
Oct 25th, 2018 at 12:32am

Hello, I am new to slinging but having lots of fun with it so far. I hike long distance trails (AT 17', PCT 18')  and a sling at a remote lake is a fun pastime. I brought my slingshot last hike for a little hunting and renewed my interest in flinging rocks which led me here. I just completed my first braided paracord sling yesterday and a rockman today. my first slings were made of denim and another from a dogleash. The denim paracord ones fling hollow or marble filled aluminum foil balls well, I notice the heavier material doesn't have the "action" or feel to fling smaller safer stuff. I have some questions pertaining to leather slings based on that I will ask as I get ready make one of those. This is first forum I have ever joined and posted on, Seems to be alot of good info traded here. Anyways thanks for letting me join.
                                        - Chris

christopher.covey.180  
IP Logged

DirtyDuck
Novicius

Slinging Rocks!

Western Wa
Re: Slinging in Washington
Reply #1 - Oct 25th, 2018 at 12:57am

Here are the 2 I made in last 24 hours, Haven't got to use them much yet but i really like the rockmans feel with a tennis ball. I think I preferred it without the whipping on pouch for how it cupped it. These are the first projects I have ever braided so go easy. Whipping was new to me too and i got carried away a bit..

IMAG7846.jpg (5186 KB | 37 )
IMAG7846.jpg
IMAG7855.jpg (4444 KB | 27 )
IMAG7855.jpg
christopher.covey.180  
IP Logged

Kick
past-moderator

Finland
Reply #2 - Oct 25th, 2018 at 3:49am

Welcome from Finland! Good looking slings and my first braiding attempts were far cruder. Some would argue I'm still not that great at it Cheesy

You are a great guy Kick but also slightly scary at times. - Morphy