Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Gaming laptop advice (Read 1046 times)
Drakolith
Funditor

U.S.
Gaming laptop advice
Jul 22nd, 2018 at 2:02pm

So, I’m looking to buy a gaming laptop, it won’t move a ton as it will just be transported from college to my home, and I’ve found a couple I’m thinking about. https://www.bestbuy.com/site/alienware-17-3-laptop-intel-core-i7-16gb-memory-nvi...

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N6S4A2U?tag=thewire06-20&linkCode=xm2&ascsubtag=AgE...

I’m not experienced in buying computers, so I don’t really know what to look for. What do all think of those two? Which is best? Or do you have other suggestions in that price range?

“When you do things right, people won’t be sure you’ve done anything at all.”

IP Logged

Curious Aardvark
Forum Moderation

Taller than the average
Dwarf

Midlands England
Re: Gaming laptop advice
Reply #1 - Jul 23rd, 2018 at 6:57am

Well as they are both the exact same laptop, made by acer - get the cheapest one.

But I would suggest you look for one with an amd processor. Cheaper, faster and with better graphics integration.

https://www.amazon.com/Gaming-FreeSync-Display-Editing-GL702ZC/dp/B077GBJCNC/ref...
That will piddle all over the acer machine !

Will you have a biggish screen tv ?
Hooking up with a hdmi cable usually works well. Add a wireless mouse and keyboard and you can just use the laptop as a surrogate base unit.

Been building, fixing and everything else computer wise, professionally, for over 30 years. So yes I do know exactly what I'm talking about Smiley

The old amd a10 processor outperformed the intel i7's.
The new Ryzens leave them in their dust !
8 cores versus 4, newer architecture, graphics tied closely to the cpu.

It's a thing of beauty Smiley