Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hi (again) from Austin! (Read 1252 times)
cpman
Tiro

Slinging Rocks!

Austin, TX
Hi (again) from Austin!
Aug 6th, 2017 at 4:53pm

I'm not new here, but I took a bit of a break from this place after breaking my arm and I haven't really posted since.

So, I thought I'd re-introduce myself.

I've been slinging for a few years -- mostly apache, but I recently switched to figure 8. It's easier on my shoulder. I've gotten a lot better now -- I'm still working on vertical accuracy, but my lateral accuracy is pretty good.

I recently braided myself two new slings -- a 24" woven pouch one made from hemp with cords around 2mm thick and a 28" sisal one with a split pouch.

As a side project, I've been extracting some yucca fibers to make another sling.

I do a lot of gardening, reading, and hiking. I've got a big collection of carnivorous plants -- which is where my username comes from.

I may pop around in random places here.

I think I may also make a tennis ball sling to bring back to college with me.

Thanks for reading and keeping this place great!

(By the way, what happened to the seprate tutorial section here? Did they all get moved into threads on the forum?)

IP Logged

Mersa
Interfector Viris Spurii

Druid

Australia
Re: Hi (again) from Austin!
Reply #1 - Aug 6th, 2017 at 5:51pm

Welcome from down under .
I threw Apache for over a year and found the same thing . The realease and projectile weight effect the vertical aim. Horizontal aim much easier to grasp.
I also sling short slings , used a 24 inch for most of my slinging days but resently retired it and pulled all the sag out of pouch and now it's 27inch . A very comfortable length for me and the styles I throw.

Razor glandes, Aim for the eyes!!!

IP Logged

Morphy
Slinging.org Moderator

Checkmate

Reply #2 - Aug 7th, 2017 at 8:47am