Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Testing Results for Braided Apache Sling (Read 486 times)
Kick
Forum Moderation

Finland
Testing Results for Braided Apache Sling
Jul 31st, 2017 at 4:49pm

I got this really beautiful sling from JudoP not too long ago and (after having to wait to go to England to get my hands on it) I've (finally) given it a full testing. I went down to Swanage in Dorset with my family for a few days, staying at a relative's place, and luckily had the perfect test range just outside. A fairly steeply banked driveway with a nice high wall. Thanks to the the slope the ammo was self-returning Cheesy Because I didn't want to ruin any walls, I had to use a tennis ball for ammo which was a bit of a learning experience as I've never used tennis balls before. Still, after getting the feel of it, I'm definitely a convert and I have to say this sling really made it easy. I've tried it with stones down on the beach as well and that too was problem-free.

When it came to style, after a lot of practicing, I found Fig 8 and sidearm were the most comfortable and gave the best accuracy which was funny because I only really got the hang of Fig 8 a few months ago and I've never been able to do side arm. I've now realised my problem was with the wind up rotations. Once I took them out and just did a single wind up I was throwing pretty consistently and fairly accurately. Anyone else find this? I always felt unsure of exactly when to go into the throw so would second guess and the throw would end up under-powered. I'm glad I've cracked that now as I also found out side arm is a great style to skim rocks with Cheesy