Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Bought 5m of seatbelt material to make 20 slings as gifts, help please! (Read 7253 times)
Xenovora

Slinging Rocks!

Bought 5m of seatbelt material to make 20 slings as gifts, help please!
Apr 24th, 2016 at 7:14pm

Hi guys, I finally got ahold of some seatbelt material to make sling pouches. I have yet to try making the first one, but I have used the M fold with leather pouches before, and learned basic whipping. I am a very novice sling maker but have been successful a few times with the most basic of builds.

Most of these will be gifts so I want to do a good job on them. I know there are a couple threads regarding the seatbelt sling, but I was hoping this forums knowledge could come together with your expert tips from making them yourselves and what you've learned over the years or months creating slightly different designs or lengths, etc, each time.

I plan to make large quantities of these if the first batch turns out well, and I desperately wish to learn how to attach and create a whip cracker on the end of the release cord of these seatbelt slings for the loud POP. Tips on this much appreciated, or reasons why this is a good or bad idea, or alternative ideas.

I hope to use these for golf balls, rocks, tennis balls, snowballs, and water balloons.

Currently my materials consist of:
120ft of 550 black paracord
Gorilla glue and elmers all purpose glue for whipping
A roll of Jute and twine
15ft of black seatbelt material 2 inch wide, quite thin
A 1x1ft sheet of untanned leather using sparingly
Glow in the dark spray paint in a can for ammo or pouch
Heavy black roll of duct tape.
Scotch tape

I need to buy #18 Mason's line for making whip crackers I think, anything else you all would recommend?

Any help or guidance would be truly a blessing, thanks! I will probably update this thread with pictures of my work over the next week or two.

IP Logged

vetryan15