Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Lengths of a sling? (Read 5935 times)
Jason
Novicius

Slinging Rocks!

Lengths of a sling?
Apr 20th, 2016 at 5:48pm

Hi all, this I think is my first post. I did a search and no results were found.

So I've been looking at making a sling and chosen the Rockman Sling - Bruno Tosso for my first one.
Yes i know slings can be of different lengths, but is there a good rule of thumb? Finger to centre of chest perhaps? Would this be too long or to short particularly for a first sling?

What would slingers recommend for a first and best on average? And potentially longest and shortest?

Thanks in advance  Smiley

IP Logged

Jareth_Atian

Slinging Rocks!

San Jose, CA
Re: Lengths of a sling?
Reply #1 - Apr 20th, 2016 at 7:26pm

I am NOT an expert, but I do steal shamelessly from experts whenever I can. In the 'Slinger's Guide Accuracy Chapter' thread, Morphy suggested that folks start with slings that are half their height, less 20-35%. This translates to multiplying one's height by 0.325 to 0.4 to get the beginning range.

For example...for a 5'10" (70") tall person:
70" * 0.325 = 22.75"
70" * 0.4 = 28"

So...a good beginning sling length for a 5'10" slinger might be  somewhere between 22.75" and 28" long, measured from the center of the pouch to the end of the finger loop.

I often hear that an ideal sling length for a more experienced slinger is 1/2 the slinger's height. I guess that I'm not experienced enough, yet. Heh.

IP Logged

walter
Interfector Viris Spurii

Slinging Rocks!

Reply #2 - Apr 20th, 2016 at 9:14pm

I' m six feet tall and like slings 27 to 28 inches measured from pouch ctr to release knot. For me, a 30 inch sling is too long for accuracy.

Perseverence furthers

IP Logged

Onager Lovac
Tiro

Slinging Rocks!

Reply #3 - Apr 20th, 2016 at 9:46pm

i remember reading somewere that if you are standing straight your sling should be barely touching the ground or a few centimeters above it.

IP Logged

Jason
Novicius