Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Practical applications of slinging. IE hunting. (Read 2694 times)
Ripperx91b
Novicius

Slinging Rocks!

Practical applications of slinging. IE hunting.
Mar 16th, 2016 at 4:48am

I have searched many times and found very few practical instances of slinging. I was wondering am I the only one that hunts or are there others? 
I frequently have to cull rabbits to prevent issues and recently started using my sling to do it, I am not an expert but I am at a point where I either  get a cleanly killed bunny or a total miss. The largest thing I have killed  with a sling is a coyote  (with penetration) at 60 yards but I have dissuaded a feral burro at 80 with a bean bag. (My bean bags are recovered from less lethal  shotgun shells during training)

IP Logged

johan
Funditor

no longer active:keep
the flame of slinging
alive

Re: Practical applications of slinging. IE hunting.
Reply #1 - Mar 16th, 2016 at 10:13am

60yards and penetration ! wow Cheesy

how far can you throw for distance?
and you must have pretty good accuracy

i 've thrown at birds flying close to me but when i got really close to hitting them after some throws i stopped. i wouldn't eat them... so it's a hobby for me.

IP Logged

HuntsmanSling
Funditor

Sling Maker

Vancouver, WA
Reply #2 - Mar 16th, 2016 at 12:02pm

I've never hunted with a sling because I'm pretty sure it's a rather brutal way to take down large game though I can't say I haven't killed a few coyotes with my .308 when I lived in North Dakota.. but that's a little different because the coyotes are dead before they knew what hit them.

Ripper, when you took down that coyote at 60 yards with penetration were you using a football shaped stone/piece of lead?

How long did the coyote live after you tagged it with the projectile from your sling?

Thanks

"Discipline leads to self respect which leads to courage"