Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Diy vaccum jig (Read 1803 times)
Tomas
Interfector Viris Spurii

Diy vaccum jig
Nov 23rd, 2015 at 8:51pm

Hey y'all, ol' Tommy boy has another query!
I've had some experience vacuum molding plastics and am looking to try leather molding. I'm going to make a vacuum jig to do this instead of molding by hand but I am still in the research stage.
Have any of you tried vacuum forming with leather before? Or even better, made your own gear for it?
I imagine leather probably is easier to do the actual molding than plastic but probably not as clean detail... Right? Lol thanks ahead of time!

IP Logged

Arcane Tinker
Funditor

Slinging everything 'cept
b.s.

Western Wisconsin
Re: Diy vaccum jig
Reply #1 - Nov 26th, 2015 at 6:21pm

I have thought about doing vacuum forming of plastics like kydex for sheaths and tool holders.  I have seen neat setups that used large air tanks and small vacuum pumps to draw a vacuum in the tank to hold until you are ready to form. Dump a quick valve and it pulls the sheet over the buck in one quick blast.  Seemed way more effective in pulling stubborn shapes that may not otherwise make a fast seal.  I know nothing about using leather and how techniques would need to change to accommodate for it's specific attributes.

Safety officers and lawyers, two paying professions until the internet came along...
Arcane Tinker  
IP Logged

Tomas
Interfector Viris Spurii

Reply #2 - Nov 27th, 2015 at 12:09am

I'll have to check into whatever system you're talking about Arcane. I have found a few online that use a shop vac but I don't know if that would be powerful enough for veg tan leather.
I think I can make a vacuum box for under $30 minus the vacuum so I'm gonna try it.

IP Logged

Arcane Tinker
Funditor

b.s.

Western Wisconsin
Reply #3 - Nov 28th, 2015 at 4:39pm

Safety officers and lawyers, two paying professions until the internet came along...
Arcane Tinker  
IP Logged