Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hi From Long Taxed Island NY,burb to NYC the source of Milk and Honey (Read 1591 times)
Sparkie
Tiro

Slinging Rocks!

New York
Hi From Long Taxed Island NY,burb to NYC the source of Milk and Honey
Apr 22nd, 2014 at 7:29am

Hi all,

I am on Long Island in NY, (near NYC). I am a newbie w/o a sling even, but I can't see them taking that long to make. I have tons of leather so pouch is easy and I really don't need an extra pair of shoes, so the thongs are a cinch.... I would like to meet up with any local slingers.

Does anyone know of any local slinger groups here on LI NY? Descriptions of how to are great or video's better, but having someone brave enough to watch closely (as they dare) as you practice is better.

thanks

sparkie

IP Logged

Bill Skinner
Forum Moderation

Slinging Rocks!

Re: Hi From Long Taxed Island NY,burb to NYC the source of Milk and Honey
Reply #1 - Apr 22nd, 2014 at 9:47am

Hello from Alabama.  Finding slingers is difficult.  My advice to pretty near all beginners is to start with tennis balls.  They have a good weight, don't go too far and aren't fatal if you hit something you don't want to hit.

David Morningstar has a lot of videos on YouTube, as do several other slingers, but David has a lot in slow motion, which lets you really see what he is doing.

IP Logged

Tomas
Interfector Viris Spurii

Reply #2 - Apr 22nd, 2014 at 10:31am

Hello from Nova Scotia!
Ya Bill is right, slingers are few and far between but this site has lots of info to help you out:)
Check the FAQ thread

IP Logged

Sparkie
Tiro

Slinging Rocks!

New York
Reply #3 - Apr 22nd, 2014 at 4:40pm

Hi Bill and Tom,