Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Regarding possible slingling injuries...EYE SHOTS! (Read 7777 times)
RoyUK
Tiro

Slinging Rocks!

Regarding possible slingling injuries...EYE SHOTS!
Aug 12th, 2013 at 5:20pm

Hi there,

Just started slinging about 6 months ago and enjoyed every minute of it, until recently. 

I am self taught via youtube clips mainly and self practicing on farmland etc.  Anyhow, I thought it would be a good idea to mention my recent experiences and just show how BAD injuries can be from a sling - none I can see have been reported that I can find with my my online searching so far.

Like I said I love slinging and am practising daily despite my recent injury, but recently started messing with my string lengths and this along with my own STUPIDITY, almost caused me to lose an eye.

I always used prior to this a length of around 28 inches sling length fully extended, but recently started using shorter lengths, which feel much better for accuracy and quite a bit of distance too.  However, my technique (untrained) was flawed and this added with short strings cause me a major eye contact injury which ended up in my eyebrow (thankfully) taking the brunt. 

What happened was I was with my mate (never ever happened when alone) so probably the show-off factor clouded my mind.  I chose a huge stone, very dense and heavy and about the size of a fist sized pebble.  I was using the basic helicopter (slight diagonal/vertical) to achieve maximum distance.

I proceeded to swing my new short sling of 23 inches and said those famous words "Watch this"...  It ended up with me doing far too many rotations, then stupidly leaning down and in to the right (I am swinging right handed) and straight into a huge smack on my right eyebrow...Ouch!

I thought I had actually popped my eyeball at first but later realized only my eyebrow and pride were dented.