Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Kahun (el-Lahun) sling: A Novel Approach (Read 24593 times)
Caldou
Funditor

Moving the world... rock
by rock.

Picardie, France
Re: Kahun (el-Lahun) sling: A Novel Approach
Reply #15 - Feb 10th, 2013 at 7:49pm

Teg wrote on Feb 10th, 2013 at 2:42pm:
@ Timothy Potter: I know what tablet weaving is, but I have no experience with it. I was actually looking for tablet weaving when I stumbled over warp twining. This could be a good method for later on but for the moment I will continue "by hand" as I have no tablets.

Not having tablets is not a valid excuse : you can make some from playing card... or even your box of cereals. If you doubt your tablet strengh, you can always try adding some tape but it may grip your fibers.

Look here for more info on the basics.

I don't think it would be very practical for making a full pouch with increases. My tablet woven sling has a split pouch, waaaay simpler to do that adding 2 cards of 4 strands in the middle of some tight weaving (you don't want to mess your nice borders, do you ? )

Eight in one shot!
The french Slinging club
If it's still moving, keep slinging !
IP Logged

wanderer
Interfector Viris Spurii

Texas
Reply #16 - Feb 10th, 2013 at 7:52pm

I think one of the newer members posted a sling recently in which they had used tablet weaving, I think with a little 'post-processing'.

Years ago Willeke suggested using it, and a German (I think!) member made one - and hated it.

I used to do a lot of card-weaving, but I don't think it brings anything that is not already there in the warp twining techniques except speed. If you want to write your name into the fabric, that's a different matter. The cards tend to impose constraints that I would want to break in order to make a sling.

Just another closely related technique(!) - ply-split braiding Grin

IP Logged

squirrelslinger
Interfector Viris Spurii

peace through superior