Send Topic Print
Burls for clubs! (Read 4233 times)
LukeWebb
Funditor

Slinging Rocks!

New Brunswick Canada
Burls for clubs!
Nov 27th, 2012 at 7:07pm

Hey, just recently got an invite from a friend of my little brothers to go cut some burls growing behind his parents house.  I went down and found a small forest full of spruce burls, trees with literally 20 of them on it.  I picked out the ones I could reach that were perhaps suitable for making clubs and here they are.  Spruce isn't the best for a club but should work well, the burl is extremely hard, much harder than the rest of the branch, and spruce though a softwood is quite hard.  The only drawback is spruces tendency to be brittle, so I will not work down the handles very much to keep them strong.  I did a little research online and found a few other clubs made from a spruce burl branch just like these so it is done.  I have never worked a burled branch before, just burled roots, so it should be a different experience and much easier to work than a root.

See my work and friend me on Facebook!&&https://www.facebook.com/luke.webb.56808
toonsbylaw@yahoo.ca  
IP Logged

Jabames
Interfector Viris Spurii

:3

Alaska
Re: Burls for clubs!
Reply #1 - Nov 28th, 2012 at 7:37pm

Never thought of that,  thats awesome

IP Logged

Rat Man
Slinging.org Administrator

Slinging Rocks!

New Jersey, USA
Reply #2 - Nov 28th, 2012 at 7:46pm

What causes the burls?

IP Logged

LukeWebb
Funditor

Slinging Rocks!

New Brunswick Canada
Reply #3 - Nov 29th, 2012 at 1:55pm

As I understand it they are caused by an insect, it's a type of infection in the tree, think of it as a tree tumor.  Most of them are on older trees, but I saw some little saplings there just the size of a christmas tree with a canetlope sized burl on them.

See my work and friend me on Facebook!&&https://www.facebook.com/luke.webb.56808
toonsbylaw@yahoo.ca  
IP Logged

timann
Interfector Viris Spurii

Slinging Rocks!

Norway
Reply #4 - Jan 6th, 2013 at 9:42am