Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
dispelling some misconceptions about atlatls (Read 10653 times)
Paleoarts
Interfector Viris Spurii

it don't mean a thing
if you aint got that
sling!

oceanside, CA
dispelling some misconceptions about atlatls
Nov 12th, 2012 at 8:04pm

the atlatl, or spear thrower, is one of mankinds oldest weapons systems and one of the least known in modern times. as a result, there is a lot of confusion and bad information out there concerning them and how they work. i'm here to put some of these myths and theories to rest and to hopefully provide our members with some solid and practical info.

first, let me start by saying that i have been making and using atlatls for about 30 years and have been doing it as a profession for about 10. i've made atlatls for several television programs such as the History Channel's Top Shot and some upcoming films. i'm a board member of the WAA (world atlatl association) and organizer of countless atlatl meets and tournaments. i'm also a veteran atlatl hunter so i think i'm fairly qualified to speak on the matter but by no means the difinitive 'last word'.

what is an atlatl? well, most people will tell you that it is a two part system consisting of a thrower (atlatl) and a spear (dart). i would correct them and say that there are three parts...the atlatl, the dart, and the person doing the throwing. much like the sling, the atlatl depends heavily on the form and technique of the person weilding it. i've heard many people decry a certain type of atlatl over another based on their own personal experience when nine times out of ten it isn't the gear but simply a matter of bad form. learning proper technique with whatever style of thrower you have is key to making the system work.

let's put some common misconceptions to rest, shall we.