Send Topic Print
Simple Atlatl (Read 15814 times)
Atlatlista
Ex Member

Re: Simple Atlatl
Reply #60 - May 19th, 2012 at 8:57pm

Morphy wrote on May 19th, 2012 at 8:21pm:
Quote:
Atlatls are fantastic, and can be very serviceable even as simple as you describe, Rat Man.

Of course, now I've gone and got myself bitten by the bow bug in a bad bad way.

Bwahahah, welcome to the dark side 'Lista!  Cheesy  

It's a longstanding obsession of mine, moreso even than the atlatl, but for the last two months I've been training with a target archery coach, hammering my form into shape, and all that good stuff.  It has helped a ton.  I'm so glad to be moving away from self-taught "instinctive" and into the world of olympic-style target shooting.  It makes me more consistent and more accurate, even with a self bow with no fancy bells and whistles.  Good form is key for any primitive art, and the olympic guys really know what they're doing with form.

As to the spine of the darts thing, I'm so glad you showed me that vid.  I was talking to the professor in charge of my lab about projectile weapons (what else) and we talked about the atlatl a bit, and I pointed out that atlatls aren't all the same, they vary widely in form and in darts especially from around the world.  I brought up the spine issue, and he was intrigued.  Apparently it hasn't been dealt with scientifically before.  So, after I get back from my dig, I'm going to do a dart spine survey of ethnographic darts from around the world to get a sense of the variety and what spine weights are best-suited to what game type, etc.  It should be really interesting, and I'm probably going to use a more accurate variation of his bathroom scale idea to spine them.

Of course that'll have to come after "project Frankenstein."  My profs are going to imbed electrodes in my arms and then have me thrust some spears to measure the musculature involved.

IP Logged

timann
Interfector Viris Spurii

Slinging Rocks!

Norway