Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Fantasy writer asking for advice (Read 8432 times)
captive1princess
Tiro

Slinging Rocks!

Australia
Fantasy writer asking for advice
Nov 26th, 2010 at 9:09pm

I'm a fantasy writer (I say this even though my stories never contain magic), and I'm looking for advice about slings, bows, staff slings, staffs, and quarterstaffs.

First, I'll give you some background. My main character is female, and aged twenty-four. She is a healer, and lives in a culture where slings are a woman's weapon. She has been practicing almost daily with a sling since she was about seven, and is also proficient in the use of staff slings, and staff fighting. She is not unusually muscular, and she prefers only to fight in defense - her tribe's philosophy is that healers are supposed to save lives, and not kill.

So far so good. The problem is, up till recently (thanks to this site), all I know about slinging comes from David and Goliath, and from the Ranger's Apprentice series, which I noticed has been discussed on this forum as being massively inaccurate.

So my first questions are:

1. If my heroine has been practising with slings for seventeen years, how accurate is she likely to be? Bearing in mind that she is not a warrior, but a healer, and assuming that her main goal is accuracy and speed when she practices.

2. How devastating could she be on a battlefield? The enemies she faces are usually clad in leather armour. It's one thing to aim at a target which is stationary, but if it is a bloke running towards her with a big lance, would she have the skill to plant a stone between his eyes? Or would she be safer if she turned and ran?