Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Sling as powerful as a .45 (Read 11746 times)
Knaight
Interfector Viris Spurii

Slinging Tennis Balls!

Colorado
Re: Sling as powerful as a .45
Reply #15 - May 15th, 2010 at 5:38pm

Curious Aardvark wrote on May 15th, 2010 at 5:05pm:
an idiot weapon is a phrase i coined to differentiate between a weapon that requires a lot of practice, time and skill and has no static aiming mechanism. And one that can be picked up and be used reasonably effectively, by any idiot, in a matter of days or even hours.

it does not indicate the mentality of the user.

slings are powerful and potentially deadly tools - in trained and praticed hands.
firearms are deadly in ANYONE'S hands.

Exactly. Its about minimum proficiency, and the term has shown up other places as well (probably a few founders). Firearms are deadly in the hands of a complete novice, and getting basic proficiency with them can be done in a few hours. Good luck pulling that off with a sling. Of course, in both cases, the well practiced have a huge advantage over the novices.

IP Logged

leadrocks

stay simple. serve god.
live free.

custer city, oklahoma
Reply #16 - May 15th, 2010 at 6:42pm

Fair enough. My apologies for the misconceptions. According to aussie's
Figures the sling still falls well under the amount of energy that the 45
Has.

'Those who would sacrifice their freedom for safety&&Will find that they will inherit neither'&&--Benjamin Franklin

IP Logged

LukeWebb
Funditor

Slinging Rocks!

New Brunswick Canada
Reply #17 - May 15th, 2010 at 8:09pm