Send Topic Print
SLING HUNTING INFO? (Read 33606 times)
LukeWebb
Funditor

Slinging Rocks!

New Brunswick Canada
SLING HUNTING INFO?
Apr 6th, 2010 at 9:50pm

Hey, I have scoured the entire info for any videos of sling hunting and can't find a thing.  I was wondering if any of you slingers have any video or pictures of sling hunting.  I am new to slinging and would love to try for some rabbits, squirrels and birds with them.  I am just curious as to what kind of damage they will do and how efficient the kill will be, (squirrels and little buggers, I have shot them clean in the skull with a .22 wadcutter 495fps. pellet gun and still had them squirm back into their dens.)  I am not a big hunter but do enjoy it from time to time and it makes for some good exercise as well as a tasty meal! Not accurate enough yet for it, but I am curious to see what kind of effect it would have and what ammo works best.  Right now I am collecting egg to marble sized flint nodules to hunt with and making up clay shot.

See my work and friend me on Facebook!&&https://www.facebook.com/luke.webb.56808
toonsbylaw@yahoo.ca  
IP Logged

Et Cetera
Interfector Viris Spurii

Slinging Rocks Into Windows!

Re: SLING HUNTING INFO?
Reply #1 - Apr 6th, 2010 at 10:05pm

You'll want consistent ammo for accuracy I've heard. I'm too lazy to do that, and that's probably why I'm not super accurate. A decent sized rock (around golf ball sized) should easily kill a squirrel. As long as you hit it hard enough it should die.

IP Logged

Masiakasaurus
past-moderator

mah-SEE-a-kah-SOR-us

Alabama, USA
Reply #2 - Apr 6th, 2010 at 11:24pm

An early member from before I joined claimed to have obliterated a rabbit with a lead sinker. Another member made a target of 2 foam gun targets back to back, and he threw a sinker through both of them and knocked a fist sized chunk out of a cinder block wall and some drywall if I remember correctly which makes the disappearing bunny seem plausible.