Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Attaching Flint arrow heads (Read 8189 times)
Monster
Descens

Calgary, Canada
Attaching Flint arrow heads
Sep 12th, 2009 at 8:14pm

So I started playing around knapping flint.  After making some poor arrow heads I thought these need to be on arrow, so this is how I attached one.  Slit and filed down a straigh branch, stick the head into the slot and tied it on with artifical sinew.

My questions is how to other people attach flint arrow and spear heads?

ArrowHeads.jpg (257 KB | )
ArrowHeads.jpg

-Self inflicted wounds don't count for sympathy.&&

IP Logged

Monster
Descens

Calgary, Canada
Re: Attaching Flint arrow heads
Reply #1 - Sep 12th, 2009 at 8:17pm

Of course the next step is to shoot the sucker.  I loaded up a kids 24 lb bow and when and shot the ground and some pop cans.  I t actually worked without falling apart.  Next step I think is to put it on a proper length arrow and try it from my 50lb bow.  The first arrow is only 2' long because that is the longest straight branch I could find in my yard quickly.

CokeArrow.jpg (329 KB | )
CokeArrow.jpg

-Self inflicted wounds don't count for sympathy.&&

IP Logged

Bikewer
Interfector Viris Spurii

I love Slinging.org!

St. Louis, Mo
Reply #2 - Sep 12th, 2009 at 8:51pm

The traditional method is pine pitch or similar adhesive and real sinew binding.  Sinew is stretchy and dries hard, so it creates a tight bond.

The latest release of the Traditional Bowyer's Bible has an entire chapter on "arrows of the world", with illustrations of dozens of different types.

IP Logged

aztec
Funditor

Slinging Rocks!

Reply #3 - Sep 12th, 2009 at 10:10pm

nice points!

if you cant get pitch andf real sinew i recomend using epoxy and fake sinew or even beter would be to use hot melt glue so you can just heat the points up if  you need to remove the points in the future