Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Mounted Atlatl Throwing (Read 9755 times)
Kjev

Limits exist only in your
mind

Mounted Atlatl Throwing
Aug 22nd, 2009 at 1:38am

I was tuning up my trusty steed this evening, and I had an insane idea. So I grabbed my atlatl and a handful of darts, and . . . .

Keep in mind this is my first time trying this, the horse's first time, and the wife's first time using the video camera, and my first time sticking anything up on YouTube. Apologies for the bad acting, lousy dialogue, background noise, huge file size, and any extraneous horse poop. As far as I know, this is the first time this has ever been done. At least for the last 30,000 years or so.
http://www.youtube.com/v/hIxJnJMl6YM&hl

This second video is with a different throw.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jf9IlHsQJ2s

In all honesty, my accuracy isn't much worse moving on the horse than it is standing on the ground. Embarrassed It was kind of fun for a screwball experiment.

K'Jev
Cool

K'Jev  Cool
"Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter"--Yoda

https://www.facebook.com/StormsForge
WWW stormsforge  
IP Logged

Paleoarts
Interfector Viris Spurii

it don't mean a thing
if you aint got that
sling!

oceanside, CA
Re: Mounted Atlatl Throwing
Reply #1 - Aug 22nd, 2009 at 2:19am

this is funny, i was just thinking about this today! glad we're on the same wavelength. great vid, kjev. you may just be the first mounted atlatlist ever! keep it up.  Smiley

visit me at www.paleoarts.net and my new gallery at www.flintknappers.com

IP Logged

Fundibularius
Interfector Viris Spurii

Sultan of Sling

Inter Mosam ac Rhenum
Reply #2 - Aug 22nd, 2009 at 6:16am

Great vid, K'jev! I agree with paleoarts that you are probably the first mounted atlatlist ever.

Ferrugo numquam dormit.&&(Nigellus Iuvenis)&&&&

Noch weiz ich an im mere daz mir ist bekant
einen lintrachen  slouch des heledes hant