Newbie technique (Read 4662 times)
Rat Man
Slinging.org Administrator

Slinging Rocks!

New Jersey, USA
Newbie technique
Jan 28th, 2009 at 11:17am

Yo again;
   Though I'm a newbie who's form is still a work in progress, I may have some useful info. for other rookies.  Obviously, slinging is all about form, not arm strength.  I have a terrible throwing arm yet some of my sling shots now travel 130+ yards.  To some that's not impressive, but it looks ok to me.  
   Here are a few basics that may help newbies who don't have as much opportunity to practice as I do.  First, I use slings with three strand pouches like Malik Lund's Appu-sling.  Consequently, I can't rotate the sling around and around to generate power or the projectile falls out.  With that in mind, I start out with my arm fully extended behind me at shoulder height and the sling hanging loose.  From there my shot is one motion, a big arc with a step through follow through.  There are a handful of particulars that are necessary for this form to be successful and relatively simple;
   Start with your left shoulder pointing at the target and your right arm FULLY EXTENDED behind you, at shoulder height, parallel to the ground.  Have your weight distributed equally between your two feet.  With your PALM POINTING UP bring the sling SLOWLY over your head while lifting your rear (right if righthanded) leg and bringing it forward.  Make sure you bring the sling directly over your head for maximum power.  Once directly over your head with the palm still rotated up snap the pouch at your target while finishing your step through.  To aim, grap the target at the end of your swing.  
   To those of you who have played basketball, this method is almost exactly like throwing a sky hook.
If you've released it correctly you'll feel it instantly.  You'll know it's a strike the instant the projectile leaves the sling.