Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
The Slings of Silicon Valley... (Read 2289 times)
DesertPilot
Descens

Oops!

Mountain View, CA
The Slings of Silicon Valley...
Aug 4th, 2007 at 11:50am

...sounds like the name of a new soap opera, doesn't it?

Greetings all,

I'm another slinger from Silicon Valley: a hotbed of slingers, where
hundreds of recreational leagues thrive amidst the cubicals!  Well,
perhaps not hundreds.  Perhaps not even one.  But you have to
admit that 'thrive amidst the cubicals' is a thought-provoking phrase! 
(Whoosh!  Thump!  Another Dilbert cartoon bites the dust!)

I've been slinging off and on -- mostly off -- for many years.  My
crude leather slings are noted for their ugliness and inefficiency. 
My style is an awkward varient of the 270-degree sidearm thrown
that combines wild innaccuracy with a stunning lack of power.  My
skill... is a thing out of legend: legends like the 'Titanic'... the
'Hindenberg'... the 'Edsel... the great stock market crash of 1929...

But hey, even for someone of my manifest ineptitude, slinging is fun! 
And as a hang glider pilot, I'm forced to spend many hours standing
around on top of mountains in the high desert waiting for good
flying conditions, surrounded by vast stretches of empty hillside
that are covered with... small rocks...

And that's just asking for trouble, isn't it?  Smiley

This is a great site!  I'd like to thank all you folks for building and
maintaining it.  I've already picked up any amount of useful info,
and I hope that someday I might be able to make some useful
contribution in return.

Thanks,
Paul

IP Logged

Dravonk
Funditor

Aachen, Germany
Re: The Slings of Silicon Valley...
Reply #1 - Aug 4th, 2007 at 5:46pm