Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
apache slings and style (Read 1282 times)
Elthore
Tiro

heads up!

near Toronto, Canada
apache slings and style
Aug 3rd, 2007 at 10:46am

Im fairly new to slinging (6months), and I just constrcuted my 3rd sling. Its an apache style although it ended up being slightly crooked. One of the bottom braids under the pouch is longer than the other, although I havent noticed too much effect while slinging...but then, what do I know eh? Also, the pouch appears to be cupped a decent amount.  So, any tips on the construction of this type of sling besides what is posted in the article???

regarding the throw style: I realize your arm should be behind you at the start but which way should your palm be facing? Im having some difficulty transitioning from the 'holding' position to the overhead. Seems like my joints dont turn that way and I cant get into a fully overhead motion without moving my arm out away from my body first. Hope that makes sense....any tips would be appriciated.

sling length is about 2 inches off the ground if I were to underhand

IP Logged

Dravonk
Funditor

Aachen, Germany
Re: apache slings and style
Reply #1 - Aug 3rd, 2007 at 10:58am

Elthore wrote on Aug 3rd, 2007 at 10:46am:
regarding the throw style: I realize your arm should be behind you at the start but which way should your palm be facing? Im having some difficulty transitioning from the 'holding' position to the overhead. Seems like my joints dont turn that way and I cant get into a fully overhead motion without moving my arm out away from my body first. Hope that makes sense....any tips would be appriciated.