Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Short Sling or Long Sling? (Read 2546 times)
greenlance
Tiro

Mediocre Geologist, Distracted
Hobbyist, Nerd

Madrid, Spain
Short Sling or Long Sling?
Aug 2nd, 2007 at 5:00pm

I'm new with a couple questions regarding the positives and negatives of short or long slings.  The first sling I made has a pouch that stays about an inch and a half off the ground when my slinging arm is fully extended.  From the edge of the 6 inch long pouch to the top of the finger loop is about 22 inches.  I heard a rumor that if I make a shorter sling I can achieve better accuracy and a higher velocity at short range shots.  So I made a sling that measures about 17 inches from the tip of the 5 inch long pouch to the top of the finger loop.  I just tried it out and I did have better accuracy but most of the time i couldn't really achieve higher speeds than my longer sling.  I've been using the shorter one over my head and the longer one at my side (overhand).  Any suggestions.  What has been discouraging me is that if I'm aiming at an object that is between 20-35 yards off, I can throw a stone almost as far as I can sling and with MUCH better accuracy.  I know accuracy will come in time with practice, but how do I achieve higher speeds.  Practice as well?  Am i missing some super-secret elite slinger's technique?

The good news is, when i was using the longer sling to throw golf ball sized stones into a lake, i "slung" some that appeared to go at least 100+ yards.  I can consistently get them to go that far.  Hooray!

i'm trying to post a photo of my sling but the "attachment" function is acting up, i'll try again soon.  but meanwhile, the two slings i'm discussing will be my profile pic.

IP Logged

siguy
Interfector Viris Spurii

si vis pacem para bellum

connecticut
Re: Short Sling or Long Sling?
Reply #1 - Aug 2nd, 2007 at 5:20pm