Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Digging for truth - History channel - David (Read 4397 times)
english
Ex Member

Re: Digging for truth - History channel - David
Reply #15 - Jul 18th, 2007 at 12:22pm

Quote:
gotta admit I've never used the sling to try and do that however...
I'm not a bear expert, or even a particularly great slinger, but: don't.  It might look bad for the sport if a man died using a sling to get bears to go away.  Smiley

IP Logged

Bikewer
Interfector Viris Spurii

I love Slinging.org!

St. Louis, Mo
Reply #16 - Jul 18th, 2007 at 12:42pm

What species of bear was indigenous to that area 3000 years ago?   Not a very likely place for a big carnivore/omnivore.....Scrubby desert land for the most part.

IP Logged

Dale
Interfector Viris Spurii

California, USA
Reply #17 - Jul 18th, 2007 at 1:44pm

I don't think David used a sling against those lions and tigers and bears (oh my!)

Samuel's first book, chapter 17.  King Saul is trying to persuade David that he is crazy to try this stunt (shepherd boy against seasoned warrior), and David replies that he has killed both bears and lions while watching his father's sheep.  "When he arose against me, I caught him by his beard, and smote him, and slew him."  This sounds more like he kept the beast off-balance while he bashed its brains out with his club.

Now, David may very well have used a sling to discourage various beasts, if he spotted them before they got to the flock.  But this example specifically concerned occasions when the beast had already picked up its take-out order (one lamb to go, please!) and David had to chase it down.

No, I don't live in a glass house.&&&&"If builders built buildings the way programmers write programs, then the first woodpecker that came along would destroy civilization."&&&&Context matters!  "Nothing but net" is a BAD thing in tennis...
IP Logged

english
Ex Member

Reply #18 - Jul 18th, 2007 at 1:46pm