Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hello from Vancouver, Canada (Read 1223 times)
Rueben
Descens

Slinging Rocks!

North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Hello from Vancouver, Canada
Jul 2nd, 2007 at 8:05pm

Hello. My name is Rueben and I have been slinging on and off since I was about 10 years old (I am currently 28). At the moment I am living in North Vancouver, which lacks suitable locations to throw rocks. But I bought some tennis balls and am trying to get out throwing twice a week now.

Since I have been slinging for a while, there are three distinct phases to my slinging:

1) Elementary school. Slinging in my parents back yard (5 acres) with denim or leather pouches tied to string. Since I did not quite know what I was doing I only spun the sling around my head and did not use much arm movement. I could hit a tree about 10m away, but with very little force. The denim sling pouches did not last long, usually ripping where the cords attached, but one leather pouch from this period was latter turned into a staff sling.

2) High school. Somehow, I figured out that a good amount of force could be generated by using one spin around my head and then a throwing motion (a 45 deg. "horizontal" throw).

At this time I experimented with other sling construction techniques and created slings similar to Zorrro's Medical tape design (similar problems, similar solutions), except I used denim instead of tape for a pouch and tied the cords to each other instead of sewing them together. The strings would then take the majority of the force, instead of the pouch. I also made very small sling pouches (1 3/4" by 4 1/2", since my previous pouches were very large and had too much drag.

During this period, I needed to move to a nearby gravel pit to sling, since the open area at my parents was no longer large enough.